2015 Stanford White Awards Celebrate Traditional Architecture and Design

On Wednesday, December 2nd, the New York Chapter of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA) celebrated the winners of the 2015 Stanford White Awards in a sold-out event at the Prince George Ballroom. David Calligeros, president of Remains Lighting and the ICAA’s New York Chapter, presented the awards, which recognize achievement in individual projects in architecture, interiors, landscape, urbanism, and building craftsmanship & artisanship through New York, New Jersey, and Fairfield Country, Connecticut.

Over 300 guests mingled with award recipients at a reception and exhibition showcasing the winner projects. Co-chairs for the 2015 Stanford White Awards Rodrigo Bollat Montenegro of Ferguson & Shamamian Architects, Clay Hayles of Remains’ partner, Robert A.M. Stern Architects, as well as Remains’ very own Alice Kriz welcomed guests, award recipients, and sponsors.

David Calligeros, spoke of the ICAA’s values, saying, “We believe that a thoughtful approach to architecture in the present starts with a thorough understanding of the substance and the grammar of the past. We provide a solid foundation and a set of tools for making great contributions to our cities, regardless of their stylistic expression.”

Justin Davidson – a critic for architecture and classical music at New York magazine and a 2002 Pulitzer Prize winner – served as a humorous emcee for the awards ceremony, and announced the 12 awards for classical and traditional architecture to each recipient.

Mr. Davidson highlighted the omnipresence of the past in his introductory speech, “The Stanford White Awards honor design that is nourished by the classical tradition. That phrase, “classical tradition,” has nothing to do with being stuck in the past. Rather, it implies that history is ever-present, that the most powerful conventions are also the most flexible, adaptable, and renewable. White the man was not marmoreal. He was thoroughly modern. In his work, his tastes, and even his vices, he was thoroughly a man of his time. And he left distinctive sediment in the layered history of New York. By honoring him, we also honor the city he helped build, a city that recreates itself anew in each generation but that has also learned to preserve its past. Each of the architects and designers who will collect prizes here tonight have mastered that paradoxical skill: how to evoke the past in contemporary ways.”

The award winners were selected by a jury composed of Dell Mitchell of Boston, Suzanne Lovell of Chicago and Stanley Dixon of Atlanta.

Accepting on behalf of the award winning firms and individuals were:
Peter Pennoyer Architects – Peter Pennoyer & Thomas Nugent
Sawyer | Berson – Brian Sawyer & John Berson
Andre Tchelistcheff Architects – Andre Tchelistcheff & Eric Hildebrandt
Ferguson & Shamamian Architects – Oscar Shamamian & Brian Covington
Historical Concepts – Andrew Cogar
Voith & Mactavish Architects – Daniela Holt Voith
Fairfax & Sammons Architects – Richard Sammons
Allan Greenberg Architect – Allan Greenberg
Doyle Herman Design Associates – Kathryn Herman & James Doyle
Walter B. Melvin Architects – Robert C. Bates & Joseph R. Perella
Emily Bedard
Andrew Califano

This entry was posted in All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply